Home · House remodel

We have finally moved in!

After 8 weeks of waiting and hard work, I can now officially say that we have finally moved into our new house! YEY! We managed to move in officially on Saturday, 17th June. Of course, there is still a lot to be done, but that is ok. There is no better feeling than my family and I being in our own home.

Remember my blog post about my rug dilemma!? (read: Which one, which one? Major RUG distress!) Well, I have finally decided and ordered at the beginning of last week! It was also such a bonus to get it on a 60% off sale. CHACHING definitely saved a bit of money there! To my surprise, it was delivered swiftly and the rug arrived by Friday. The courier was DHL and I was able to track the delivery online too.  When I opened the package I knew that I have made the right choice. Rolling out the rug into the sun-soaked living area while the marvellous pattern and colours unfolded before my eyes and also seeing the difference it brings to the room was just absolute magic! I do not think I will ever get tired of it. It feels really soft too. When Joseph saw it, he quickly laid on it and said with a long sigh: “Ahhhhh reeellaax!” I am glad that my little monkey likes it too.

By the way, I have decided to ditch the coffee table. As much as I wanted to keep it, I wanted to make sure I was maximising the use of every space we have while keeping every sense of comfort suitable for my family. So instead I bought a footstool from IKEA which will also serve as a coffee table and storage. It is from IKEA’s “Ektorp” range which I absolutely love as it is timeless and yet at the same time super practical as the slipcovers are machine washable. Perfect for a household with little children and I can get away with having a white settee. YEY!

To ensure I can use it as a coffee table too when entertaining I bought a large white tray with grey laurel leaf pattern on the side which gives it a “French Provence” vintagey look. For a bit of texture on the whole ensemble, I have added a faux sheep fur throw which I have also purchased from IKEA for a bargain price.

However, as the room is not complete yet you will have to wait for the “Room Reveal” post.

We are soooo close to finishing the Living/ Dining and Kitchen area, so it should not be long anymore. But here’s a little teaser…..:)

 

Here’s one with the footstool and tray:

 

I know it is 3 months overdue but this is the welcome package and the house keys which we have received from the estate agent shortly after the exchange of contracts:

 

And because we have worked hard and the sun is smiling down on Bristol this week again, I decided to take it easy and explore a bit of Yate.

Here’s Joseph enjoying the giant sandpit in the middle of the town centre:

Until next time my lovelies! 🙂

2 thoughts on “We have finally moved in!

  1. Ha! I love the hexagonal side table too and it’s marble surface 🙂 yes Joseph is cute with his sunglasses! It is his minion sunglasses so he loves wearing them 😎

    Like

Leave a Reply

