Home · House remodel

So this is what we have been up to….

I have been meaning to write this post sooner however, lately it seems that time is against me and there’s so much to do! Living in our house now while trying to continue with the remodel does not make it easier.  It’s juggling parenthood, establishing new routines, office work, house work, oh dear, the list can go on and on….

Despite being busy, I must admit that I absolutely love that my family and I are now living in our very own house. I love how we can see the progress we are making and how things are becoming more of how Christopher and I have envisioned it. Plus my heart melts when people come by and my little man tells them proudly and full of enthusiasm that it’s his new house.

So what have we been up to these last three weeks!?

1. Front and back porch roofs update:

We finally had the front and back porch roofs repaired! Christopher striped them back and removed all the rotten parts, Christopher’s dad installed the fascia boards and we called in a roofer for re-lining and water proofing. Good bye to those rotten roofs. Spot the difference!?

The front porch roof was the one that was rotting away so it definitely needed some serious repair work.

 

The back porch roof slightly dropped so it had to be lifted up and supported.

 

2. Hemming the living room curtains:

When I bought our curtains for the living/dining areas they were way too long. There was definitely no getting away of having to shorten them. I didn’t really want to use my sewing machine and so I did my research and found the perfect solution of how to  hem our living room curtains without using a sewing machine! I found an iron-on hemming strip at IKEA for just £2 and it was an absolute lifesaver. It was so easy to use and all I needed were scissors, pins, 2x clips (to hold the end of the curtains) and the hemming strips and I am super happy with the result:

 

 

 

3. The epic journey of acquiring my IKEA white Vittsjo shelving units – “I came, I saw, I conquered”! It was tough but I was Victorious!

The living areas are pretty much done except for some small finishing touches…ahhhhhhh all those little things that take up so much time when all I really want is to finally do my living area reveal post!

As the living areas open planned I wanted to put shelving units in the room that will connect the living and dining areas. (To see my initial mood boards check out: Interiors and Mood boards )

However, the shelving units need to be light, fresh and airy; cohesive to the theme I want to establish throughout the rest of the house. And so I decided to go for the  IKEA Vittsjo shelving units in white. They are exactly what I need to bind the areas together. (Plus unlike other shelving units similar to Vittsjo, they are actually quite affordable and yet looking very “designer” at the same time)

 

 

I decided to go for the double and single rather than just a double as grouping things in 3’s are more pleasing to the eye. Keep in mind the rule of 3’s is one of the golden rules of style and interior design! 😉

However, acquiring those shelves was an absolute roller coaster ride for my nerves. 😵 I thought I will just be able to waltz into IKEA and purchase my “must-have” shelving units but instead my excitement was shattered into pieces when the information personell told me that only the white single ones are available in Bristol and the white double ones are out of stock and is unlikely to get restocked as the line is being discontinued! 😱 (why the heck would IKEA discontinue such a popular  line!? Je ne comprend pas est pourquoi?) Imagine the panic I have felt when I heard those words! As I was so determined to have those shelves in white, out of desperation I was so close to just buying the double ones in Black-brown and spray paint them white. But then I ended up not buying anything as Christopher said that the packagings are too long they wouldn’t fit in the car anyways!

Yup I came home heart broken because of shelving units I couldn’t buy, it’s ridiculous right!? But I didn’t give up just yet. I did further research and found out that the double white ones are luckily still available in IKEA Reading which is an hour away from Bristol. Chris’ dad was kind enough to accompany me with his van to pick up the single one from the Bristol shop and last Saturday he accompanied Chris to pick up the double ones from the Reading shop. My husband and father-in-law indeed made me very happy as they definitely helped me complete my “work of art”.

Some people did some really cool IKEA hacks with their Vittsjo shelving units, like for instance spray painting them in gold and applying marble contact paper at the bottom shelves, giving it the glam look:

images

But I think I will likely leave it in classy white with a touch of marble. Uhhhhh how I can’t wait to style my shelving vignettes! (And of course let us hope that Joseph does not use the shelves as ladders!)

On that note as Caesar once said when conquered Carthage: Veni, Vedi, Vici!

Until next time peeps! 😘

 

 

Leave a Reply

