About Me · Personal

A baby blessing, a wedding and the cities of my childhood and youth

My family and I are currently visiting my parents in Munich, Germany and how quickly time went by as tomorrow we will be flying back to England again.

Last Sunday my family had the honour to witness and be part of the baby blessing of my nephew Kai Kristian Magpantay. There’s something very special about newborns. They’re such little angels that instantly bring joy into your heart and they smell like heaven too! It was such a wonderful family affair and we feel truly blessed. As me, my siblings and our families are scattered between Germany and the UK, reunions like this only happen once every blue moon and therefore we cherish every moment and memory we make together even more so. Here’s the Magpantay clan to date:

DSC_1265

Here’s Joseph with his cousins. It’s such a delight to see that they all play so well together.

My siblings and I on a lunch date with a very good friend in Munich at the rustic elegant “Kuffler Spatenhaus an der Oper” – they serve the very best organic ice cream!

FB_IMG_1501448527171

Last Thursday we embarked on a five hour roadtrip from Munich to Vienna, Austria to attend my cousin’s wedding. However, this was not your ordinary wedding, this was also the long awaited family reunion of my father’s side of the family. Aunts, uncles and cousins flew in from the USA, Canada and the UK to witness the Filipino-Austrian wedding of the year. My cousin and her groom looked absolutely happy, gorgeous and so in love with each other. From the bottom of my heart, I  wish them all the happiness and success. Also I love the fact that even though my family are scattered on every corner of the world (so it seems to me anyways) we all feel so happy and at home with each other. It was all about loud chats and laughter, selfies and pictures galore as it is typical of a big fat Filipino family reunion. And of course let us not forget the good food too! Oh how I love my family.

Whilst we were visiting Austria we also made sure to visit some of it’s famous landmarks and places. I am most especially happy that I was able to once again show and share my boys the beautiful city of Vienna. Whilst walking around the city centre childhood memories came flooding back. Funny how you appreciate and love a place even more after you’ve already left it and life’s destiny has taken you somewhere else….

Here are some of our few Viennese impressions. It is such an elegant and classy city:

Hallstatt, Austria – the absolute Austrian alpine paradise. This little town is not just beautiful but also so full of history that it is considered as a world heritage site by the UNESCO.

IMG_20170727_194640_641

After a week of nostalgic, heart warming adventures with families and friends and being able to speak German again in the cities of my childhood and youth, we are once again homebound to good old Bristol, England.

Munich and Vienna you will always have special places in my heart. You will be missed. Auf Wiedersehen for now und bis Bald!

 

 

Leave a Reply

